Stinky Vegetables & Sea Animal Salads

I’m less enamored with the our autumn farm share, it’s all cruciferous root vegetables and spicy salad greens. In an effort to make turnips and winter radishes more fun we turned to refrigerator pickling. Don’t get me wrong, they taste refreshing and zippy, but today when I ate my lunch at work it prompted a nearby coworker to complain to facilities about “a strange garbage gas smell.” I can’t blame the guy, the second I walked in the door tonight I was hit by a wall of toot/garbage smell that makes Nick and I wonder how farmers make it through winter without suffocating each other in their sleep.

For dinner we attacked the spicy salad greens by topping them with the pickled veggies; we have a LOT of pickled turnips and radishes. Enough for many servings a day. I looked down at my bowl and all I could think was that I was eating a bowl of endangered underwater sea creatures.

I wish I could say I’m eating salad greens instead of a pizza because I really care about my colon health, but really it’s because we already paid for these things. And even if my salad looks like sea animals, and is spicy enough to curl my noise hair, I’m determined to get through it. Life can be so hard, especially when forced to eat farm fresh veggies practically delivered to your door, you know?

image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

