“The Schmitter,” Go ahead, say it five times fast.

You all know I love trash food: I will wax poetic about slider burgers at any provocation, dare to take on any street food I can find, and take long detours to sample the dejeuner a la fourchette of a hidden diner.  I guess I am trying to say, I just like food.  Beyond writing about cheese steaks or water ice, it is inevitable that I will write about food on this blog.  I have resisted writing reviews of the ZILLIONS of restaurants we have been to, I don’t think it would be that interesting, but I can’t let this one go.

A Small Philadelphia disappointment: The Schmitter as Served at Citizens Bank Park.

This sandwich had a lot of hype.  Like everything else in Philadelphia, it has its origins at some small Mom and Pop restaurant/diner/lunch cart/shack, and now, like, 100 years later is still a staple of the Philadelphia culinary landscape.

Drawing of The Schmitter SandwichI was misinformed that a Schmitter was a Rueben sandwich within a Philly Cheese Steak.  (Actually, a Rueben inside of a cheese steak sounds sort of amazing.)  I’ll save the description, check out the diagram at right, rest assured it contains fried salami and a lot of cheese and beef.

I’ve heard the Schmitter is very good at its origin, McNally’s, a restaurant in the north Philadelphia neighborhood Chestnut Hill.  It has been served there for over 45 years, and has only been at Citizen’s Bank Park, home of the Phillies, since 2004.  So dear readers, if you ever find yourself in the quandary, “Oh to what to eat at the ball park?”  Go for the sausage with grilled onions and peppers, and throw in a Yuengling for me.

Here are some pics of our recent adventure to a Phillies ball game.  It was 80s night, and shucks, my legwarmers are in Michigan.

(The Schmitter is a registered trademark of McNally’s.  The Schmitter blueprint is from their website, link above.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Schmitter,” Go ahead, say it five times fast.

  1. Joe Pie says:

    Rebecca, Sorry your CBP Schmitter® was not up to standards. Please visit us at the tavern before you and Nick return to Michigan. I think you’ll love our Schmitter® and everything else we offer. Thanks for the attribution in your blog entry!

    Ask for Anne or Meg and show them this note.

    Joe Pie (Anne’s partner)

Leave a Reply

