My Favoritest Thing in Our Philadelphia Apartment: the Gnome Door

The Gnome Door in relation to a regular size door.

The Gnome Door is next to a closet door.

We had an uneventful ride to Philadelphia, even if we did start two and a half hours later than we wanted to AND we missed 826’s Robo Karaoke.  (Boo.)  We arrived in Philadelphia, where it was 90 degrees at 11:00 in the morning, and our apartment had no air conditioner.  It was “on order.”  I had this conversation with our doorman, “I understand an air conditioner is on order for our apartment, do you have any idea when it might get installed?”

Doorman: “Well, I can’t really be sure.”
Me: “It was 93 degrees in our apartment last night.”
Doorman: “Yeah, I am sure it was hot.”
Me: “No, it was actually 93 degrees; we have a thermometer in the apartment.”
Doorman: “Well, I wouldn’t look at that thing, it’ll just make you feel worse.”

Thankfully, after one uncomfortable night, the building manager scrounged up a window unit and installed it. I very nearly kissed him.

So far, after a mere two days, I love our apartment (with air conditioner). We live in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Philadelphia: Rittenhouse Square. Nearly everything we have needed is within a two block radius, including: a public library, a very large park, multiple drug stores, a Trader Joe’s, a hardware store, a bike store (for a replacement helmet), dry cleaners, countless restaurants (including Ethiopian, Thai, Sushi, Nuvoue American), yoga, an H & M (for replacement sunglasses that got broken in my bike accident), and the Mutter Museum.  I would hate to spend the entire summer within the boundary of my beautiful little neighborhood, but I have to say it is tempting.

A Gnome Door from the hallway.

A Gnome Door from the hallway.

One of the many things I love about our apartment is a little door I discovered on the first day of living here.  After I discovered it, I realized that all the apartment doors had little corresponding doors in the hallway next to their apartment door. Fortunately, I didn’t have to feel stupid asking the doorman, the woman we are renting our apartment from stopped by and gave us a tour of the building.  She explained the door is where the trash goes, and it is picked up EVERY DAY.  Every night, a little bag of trash goes in, and someone comes by and picks it up before you wake up!  I am pretty sure if I had a small child, I would tell it that magic gnomes live in our building.  They take the trash to their underground kingdom and make stuff out of it.  They also manually make the elevator work.  And more importantly, they will steal him away to their trash kingdom if he misbehaves.  How is that for city living?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Favoritest Thing in Our Philadelphia Apartment: the Gnome Door

  1. Bud Gibson says:

    Love the map at the top showing the trip from A2 to Phillie. I’ll subscribe and follow.

  2. jamiefavreau says:

    I was thinking it was an older building and maybe it was an old milk chute. If those even come in apartment buildings. Good luck in Philly…

    • lopezkriss says:

      Jamie, its definitely an older building, I didn’t even think that originally it might have been a milk chute! Its very possible, maybe I’ll look into it more. 🙂

  3. Skyler says:

    That’s so convenient! You can use that door while Nick uses the other door!

  4. Pingback: Hobbit Doors in NYC | My Life as a B-lister

Leave a Reply

