Nine Days and Counting

I just made the reservation for a one-way rental car to Philadelphia and suddenly this whole thing seems a lot more real. I just realized how much I want to get done before I leave, how many last minute lunches and coffee dates I need to make, and shoot…I guess I should have ordered contacts while they could still get delivered.

At least packing will be a breeze. The apartment that my husband and I are renting is furnished, and also so tiny that we can’t bring anything but our clothes. We found a 350 sq ft studio (about the size of our Ann Arbor apartment’s living room!) in a great neighborhood in downtown Philadelphia. We will live less than a mile from my workplace…which is City Hall. CITY HALL! I promise to post video or pictures once we get there, I can already tell that I am in love with it. If you have never seen pictures of Philadelphia’s City Hall, it is magnificent.

This summer will be an exercise in minimalism. I can’t wait to see how we survive without the things we think we can’t live without. Like our car; we will be car-less from now until late August. And, I’ll probably be okay if I don’t pack every pair of yoga pants that I own, my extensive yarn collections, or books that I think I will read, but won’t really. The cat however, she makes the cut.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nine Days and Counting

  1. Skyler says:

    I think you guys will have a good time. It’ll be an adventure… and I’m sure you’ll make some new friends there almost instantly. You have a knack for doing that.

Leave a Reply

